Sample Swatch

Yesterday (err, Tuesday) I knit a large gauge swatch for my dream 70s cardigan.  I knit it in the orange because I was headed to Ariadne regardless and needed to wind that enormous skein into a ball.

I cast on about 40 stitches and then knit about two inches each of stitch patterns that refuse to be forgotten.  That slipped stitch pattern?  My friend Lisa told me about it in 2007.  That star stitch?  I saw that last fall on ravelry.  That fisherman’s rib?  Mollyann from Ariadne told me about months ago.   The coolest aspect of all of this is that I haven’t ever really knit any of these stitch patterns.

And interestingly enough, the gauges are really different:  from 3 stitches per inch to 6.  But my friend Mitali can attest to that!  I certainly was having enough trouble getting the star stitch to behave.  I’m a notoriously tight knitter so any pattern that requires that I knit through anything three times is a bit above and beyond my capabilities.  I think I may have to find a charming (yet identical in every way) sort of alternative.  That saying, I’m not sure if using a substitute will get this bug out of my ear.

In other news, my cat Patrick Purrswayze fell yesterday and twisted one of his hind legs a bit.  I know it’s not too serious because he’s still jumping from the floor to the windowsill with no problems (and also, because he sometimes forgets that it hurts and runs around like a totally healthy pussy cat) but his expression is the most tragic thing I think I’ve ever seen.

Doesn’t he look disgusted, yet contemplative, yet very sorry for himself?  Poor fella.

And without further ado (and from a special request from Princess Sonya via Mitali)…

It’s perfect:  a cat sleeping on drying hand knit socks that have been well loved on a beautiful spring day.

One response to “Sample Swatch

  1. Sonya *loves* the Mee-yow pictures. We printed the close-up of Patrick for a spot near her play kitchen. He’s going to be featured next to Cinnamon and Gigi. Sonya thinks that Bazzy looks like a lion. She looks concerned as she points to Bazzy’s teeth. As for the star stitch– perhaps starting off an entire cardigan might be ambitious unless you plan to wear thimbles on your fingers. But why abandon it? Could you knit smaller sections of star stitch, like in strips coming down the sleeve or just the bustline? It would be a nice way to set off some thin cables, maybe? Hope I’ll see you tomorrow at Ariadne. Thank goodness spring is finally HERE!!!

Leave a Reply

