Sock it to Me

I’m very nearly done that neckerchief!

I’m really pleased with how it’s turning out – and what’s more, Mollyann from Ariadne has said that I can block it at the store with a real blocking pad and pins and everything.  I have never in my life blocked a lace shawl, so I’m really excited about how this is going to turn out.

I really like how the colour has turned out, and it’s only taken one ball of yarn.  I wonder what I’ll do with the other ball of Crystal Palace Panda Silk.

In other news, my friend Lisa give me six balls of vintage sock yarn – two each in grey, brown, and green.  I’m seeing that grey in lace and that brown in cables, but I have no idea what to do with the green.  Maybe colourwork?

As you can see, it’s 85% wool and 15% nylon.  It’s pretty soft and I really want to work with it.  I like very plain sock yarns, and I’m glad that I have access to some sock yarn that isn’t variegated.  What can I say?  I don’t like bright colours.

I have this aspiration to have enough hand knit pairs of socks so as not to need to wear boughten ones in the winter.  Wool socks are a blessing when it’s cold and wet outside.

I’m thinking pretty seriously about buying a loom.  Any suggestions?

2 responses to “Sock it to Me

  1. If you’re interested in a loom, you should talk to Colette; she has a few floor models at her studio you can try out and see which one you like best.

  2. Go for a loom!

    There was a time when I was looking around at looms myself. Unless you’re looking to make full-blown carpets, go for a table loom, I say. Good for the space-and-budget-conscious.
    I ended up deciding not to go for the loom, sadly, but I was looking to get one from Schacht Spindle. They seem decent, and they’ve got dealers all over the place. Cricket Loom is my fav.

Leave a Reply

