This is the Remix

I’ve been knitting steadily along on my candy stripe raglan pullover. The waist shaping is finished, and I’m basically just deciding on where to start the ribbon at this point. Because I have an odd obsession with even numbers, I think I’m going to knit until there are 12 gold stripes.

I also want to put a kangaroo pocket on the front. I want it to be colour work, and it has to be awesome. This is of course dependent on how much yarn I have left, but considering that I’m almost done the body and have only used 4 balls of mission falls 136 in charcoal, I don’t think that would be a problem. Here’s a shot of the back shaping.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do about the sleeves. I think I want 3/4 length sleeves, but that feels silly. I don’t know – I guess I have some time to think about it. I have to say that I really like the versions of this sweater online that have long sleeves as well.

I’ve been working on my neckerchief, but I think I dropped a stitch. In fact, I know I dropped something somewhere. I ripped back a bunch and thought I caught the error, but it’s still there. Honestly, I think the ripping back and reknitting over and over again has exacerbated the problem, but it’s enough of a problem for me that I think I’m just going to start the whole damn thing over.

The picture above is what the stitch pattern is supposed to look like.  I think it’s really cool, and it reminds me of the stuff I’d see in my great grandmother’s house.  I want my scarf to look that way.  But it doesn’t, because I messed up about midway across one row.

It’s driving me nuts.  As are the conditions of my windows, but give me a break – it’s February in Montreal.  I’m going to rip it all back.  I think that I could have have handled it better if I had understood the specs of the pattern better.

You see, the finished measurements are supposed to be so that the final width across the widest part of the neckerchief (the side that goes around your neck) is 1 yard 16 inches.  I had no idea how big a yard is – 3 feet?  Seriously?  For some reason, I thought it would be smaller than a foot.  Regardless, I don’t want a giant shawl, I want a small neckerchief, so I’m going to recommence by casting on enough for about an inch and see if I can get something closer to what I wanted.

But isn’t it pretty?

Leave a Reply

