Bean Burgers

I feel poorly for not having written a post in a few days, and some friends at my knit night asked me for a good bean burger recipe, so I think I’ll share the recipe right now, and tomorrow, I’ll show off some actual knitting content. In actual fact, I mostly just worked on a secret project and ripped back about an inch of my vintage neckerchief, so there wouldn’t have been much to talk about regardless.

This is the recipe that my partner developed last year in Venezuela.

You’ll need: 3 cups of cooked (or canned) caraotas (blackbeans)
1 carrot, shredded
1 big onion shredded
half a cup of rolled oats
half a cup of corn flour
a tablespoon of salt, and oil
So, you want to mash all the beans lightly in a big enough bowl. then add the rest of the ingredients and mix it with your hands until you get a dough like consistancy, (you can use more oil if its too dry or more oats if its too wet.) Then, make burger sized patties, (you should get about six with the recipe) and fry or bake them on each side untill golden brown. Enjoy with some fresh tomatoes and toasted bread or buns!

Those burgers were delicious, and a mainstay in our diet back then. On Thursday, I had a craving so deep and so big that I actually could feel the taste of those burgers in my mouth, so I got some groceries and decided to remix the classic.

Instead of carrots, I used sweet potatoes. Instead of corn flour, I used buckwheat. And I added something new; about half a tablespoon of black bean garlic sauce (found at your friendly local Asian dollar store). Other than that, the recipe was exactly the same, and doubly delicious.

We ate a marvelous salad on the side, with some homemade honey, apple cider vinegar, oregano, and olive oil dressing. Nom!

Leave a Reply

