And miles to go before I sleep

Last night, I re-cast on my sweater.  I’m making that my start date for this sweater?  Why?  Because I did it three times, and I think casting on that many times negates the first attempt at knitting.  I may be wrong, and the knitting deities may chastise me, but that’s how I roll.  That said, here’s my collar! (In lovely Mission Falls 136 superwash, using the Candy-Striped raglan pullover calculation, that is.)

The stockinette is rolling, so it’s actually quite a lot more impressive than it looks.  Or at least, it’s quite a lot more impressive than it looks to me, which is an entirely different thing.  Still, having knit 2.5 inches in about that many hours ain’t bad.  And that’s taking the work I did on my socks into consideration.

I knit two inches on my socks as well.  That’s using 2.75 mm needles, and I’m a tight knitter.  It took a long time, and my right thumb hurt when I went to bed, but that’s what I did.

See, I’m knitting them two-at-a-time.  That means that the two inches I knit last night is actually equal to four.  This is what I keep telling myself, at least.

I cast these socks on January 11th.  That was 11 days ago!  And I think I probably have another two inches per sock (four inches total) and then the two inches of decreases per sock for the toes left.  Now, I know that I haven’t knit for at least two days out of being busy, and another two days making my Saartje’s booties, but still. I feel like a bit of a slow poke, and it’s affecting my self-esteem more than I’d care to admit.  That said, from what I recall, I usually can knit one adult sized sock in about 5-6 days.  Then I knit the other one, which usually takes less time because I’m not figuring out the pattern, so let’s say 4-5 days.  At the outset, I knew I was in for about 11 days of knitting.  Subtracting the four days of impetuous relaxing or knitting baby booties, I have four days to finish these before my ego has been entirely deflated.

I’ve tried to make myself feel better by reminding myself that I usually automatically deduct 10 stitches from the cast on amount because I have tiny feet, and usually only knit about 4-5 inches on the foot before I decrease for the toes.

I’m knitting this pattern as specified because it’s for Ariadne Knits, and also because I want to start listening to other patterns before I stampede off and end up drowning myself in redundant stitches.  But golly.  I didn’t know it would be this hard.

2 responses to “And miles to go before I sleep

  1. Gosh those are some gorgeous socks! Don’t beat yourself up about the time spent knitting! It’s supposed to be fun, not necessarily a race! It takes me forever to knit socks too. . . just one of those things 🙂

  2. A bit of sandpaper has improved that thankfully.The last straw was coming to a knot in the skein just as I was just getting into the rhythm of the project. I am not wasting another moment on a project that seems intent on pissing me off.Im heading to the yarn shop after work and getting something different.

Leave a Reply

