Agony

The other day, I made the mistake of going to the grocery store.  “Sweet potatoes are delicious,” I foolishly said to myself, and toddled on down the block to gather up some greens and veggies.  I came home to this.

I know you can’t see it, but there are two more skeins on the floor underneath the chair.  The boxes are the cats’ play area, but the tissue paper was stolen and the chair dramatically knocked over.  I would have been grumpier but for the pride in Bazorov’s face.  The stash boxes (the purple and blue boxes on the shelving unit) have since been moved to the top shelf, but that hasn’t done much to save the rainbow mohair.

I haven’t mended the buttons on my sweater because I haven’t really gotten my paws on it yet (pun intended).  I’ve also started a really nifty sock pattern; the show-off stranded socks by Anne Campbell. I absolutely adore the slipped stitches.  I’m knitting the socks two at a time using striped Turtle Toes from Turtlepurl Yarns in the POW colourway. It’s 75% superwash merino and 25% nylon.  I’m knitting it in the small size for Ariadne Knits.

I’m sorry the picture is so dark;  I’ll knit some more on it tonight and then take some pictures in the broad light of day.  It gets dark at about 4:30 in the afternoon now, and I had a rather dramatic sick day.  This cold is moving into the stage where I feel as though I’ve been pummeled by hammers.

The colours are so vibrant!  And the slipped stitches make that very bright green look like fish scales – shiny and clean.   I’m really pleased with how the pattern shows off the colourway.  You can tell that a lot of work went into hand painting this yarn – it’s so soft and stretchy.

Absolutely lovely; balm for an unwillingly destashed soul.  I’m off to eat some tomato soup.

Leave a Reply

