Ice Cream IV

I can’t believe how sick you can get over a few days.  It’s astounding.  But now, I can’t imagine doing anything but knit and sleep.

What’s especially frustrating is that I’m currently knitting two different mittens.  I’m knitting the thrummed mitten for Ariadne and some plain stripy mittens for Greg.  They’re both free patterns available online (thanks!) but I dislike how the patterns were written.  The thrummed mitten has decreasing instructions that go as follows:

Shape Top: Keep thrum pattern going as long as possible.
Rnd 1: *K8, k2tog; rep from * around.
Rnd 2: Knit
Dec 4 sts (working 1 less knit st between decreases) 

in this manner every other rnd until there remain 20 sts.

Dec 4 sts in this manner every rnd until 8 sts remain. 

Cut yarn, thread tail through rem sts, pull tight and fasten to inside.

I don’t love it.  Why?  Because I assumed that meant that on every decrease round I could decrease properly by knitting 8 and then knitting two together.  It was the “in this manner” that threw me off.  And then I had to rip back about 6 rounds, which I dislike intensely.  I’m being terribly grumpy, I know, and a lot of my problem has to do with my misinterpretation of a common phrase.  It’s also a free pattern, so I can’t exactly expect the sun and the moon and the stars, but I would have recommended placing markers at each quarter – I cast on 44 stitches, and so, I would have written, “pm every 11 sts.  These markers will show where the decreases will occur”  or something along those lines.  Now that I’m knitting the top of the mitten correctly, I’m not bothering to do so, but those instructions would at least show that the decreases are intended to be quarterly not swirly.  I think the problem also sources back to my fascination with swirly tops – how do they do it?  Magic.

Another thing.  The pattern recommends twisting the thrums so that they bend back on themselves and therefore don’t have a lot of loose fibres.  I assume that this is so that the thrums don’t work themselves out of the mitten.  But that seems to me a distinctly optional step, as those loose fibres are going to kind of felt into themselves, forming  a more uniform inner lining.  I have chosen to omit this step, and I feel like a knitting heroine.  Hyah!

The mitten pattern that I’m using for Greg’s mittens is also, as we say back home, driving me up the wall and back down again.  I decided not to knit a gauge swatch (did I mention that I feel really crummy?)  and gosh, they’re huge!  I’ve cut back down by 10 stitches, and I just hope that they end up a more appropriate size.  Ripping back all this work really isn’t helping my disposition.

And so.  I’m sending out a request to the universe.  Please send me ice cream.  Preferably with good vibes and positive energy in an IV.  Send it fast, and until then, please let these mittens work out properly.  For now, I still have one of my favourite pictures of all time.

Bazorov as a kitten

Leave a Reply

