Whirling

Yesterday was awesome.  I went to Ariadne for a spinning class!  Oh, I had so much fun and learned so much, and by the time I got home I was excited enough to keep spinning.

 

yes, that is a beer in the background

 

I love it.  It absolutely astounded my partner and my cats, and it’s so exciting to learn something new about fibre work.  I was working with undyed sheep’s wool because sheep’s wool is crimpy and has a long staple length (and is therefore easier to spin).  Mollyann even let me play on her S17 from Louet, and I made some fairly lofty yarn!  It was so.  cool.

I also bound off my cabled hat for those with big heads.  I modified the decreases and updated the pattern .pdf, so if you’ve already looked at it, I recommend checking back for the upgraded crown.

 

pretty spiral crown

 

The hat is so cozy and soft!  I’m glad that the ribbed panels add so much stretch, and that the cabled pattern looks so crisp with this yarn choice.  I really love that yarn, and I’m almost thinking about incorporating it into a bigger project.

That picture really looks like November, doesn’t it?

But I can’t stop staring at my new handspun.  Wow!

 

left; second attempt, right; first handspun ever

 

I’m really happy about this!  Heck, that handspun is even plyed!  But, life goes on, and I have to get a shower before getting some stuff done tonight.

Happy autumn, everyone.

One response to “Whirling

  1. Hi just thought i would tell you something.. This is twice now i?ve landed on your blog in the last 3 weeks looking for completely unrelated things. Great Info! Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

