Feeling Groovy

Tonight is knit night at my LYS, Ariadne Knits.  I’m really excited;  I’m relatively new to this neighborhood, but I’m starting to feel pretty close to some of the folks that go.  It’s really nice to get out of the house and hang with people who also love textiles and handmade art.

There is also an event this Saturday that I’m going to.  It’s a 12 hour knit-a-thon where you knit a hat for someone undergoing chemotherapy for breast cancer.  I’m going to adapt the generic Norwegian hat pattern from Hello Yarn so that it’s a bit smaller and try to make a floral pattern in two 30% silk/70% merino yarns.  They’re both shades of purple.

 

yarn for hat

 

And yes, the cat statue is holding the gauge swatch – why not?

I’m knitting with MerinoSeta by Lang Yarns (the light purple) and Venezia Worsted by Cascade Yarns (the dark purple).

I’m pretty excited about this hat.  I was going to knit a version of my Cabled Hat for Those with Big Heads for the knit-a-thon, but this yarn is too pretty not to be worked together, and besides – something about cabled silk makes me want to weep.

I’m pretty nervous about colouring all over the chart provided by Hello Yarns, though.  It’s been a while since I’ve made any of my own colour charts, and I don’t want to muck up the chart.  I definitely want to make it a bit smaller, though.  Apparently, the standard circumference of a woman’s hat is 57 cm, but I’m knitting for someone whose hair is probably thinning a bit.  I think I’ll go for about 55 cm and include the lining.

Ultimately, my goal in knitting this hat is to make something beautiful for someone struggling.  I hope it helps that person out!  Regardless, this Saturday promises to be fun.

Oh, what’s that?  You wanted to hear about my sweater?

Well, it’s all bound off and ready for buttons.  I took some pictures a few days ago when I was finishing off the yoke, but the sweater is much more “done” than all that.  I’m in the process of writing down everything that I did (golly!) and it’s tedious but cool.  I’ve drawn out a schematic of the sweater and coloured it with my leads to help keep my eyes from crossing.

 

cables in the afternoon light

 

This particular sweater is destined to go live at Ariadne Knits.  I’m looking forward to knitting one for myself soon!

I (at the last minute, mind you) decided to do a lattice cable on the sleeves, and I’m really glad I did.  It’s ended up being a centre piece of the sweater.

 

lattice cable

 

I’m pretty impressed by the hemp content in the yarn as well.  Hempwol is a 65%wool/35% hemp blend, and it’s just so squishy!

 

yum!

 

I love it.  I think that when I knit the sweater for myself, I may try a 100% wool with an emphasis on merino (I have a giant crush on merino yarns) but this Hempwol is to die for.

That saying, my mania for sweaters has decreased significantly because the heat in my apartment has been turned on.  I’ve been walking around barefoot, even!  The cats are loving the warmth of the heaters and I’ve been loving not having to layer so much indoors.

2 responses to “Feeling Groovy

  1. Hi Claire,

    So nice to have seen you tuesday. Unfortunately i will not be at Ariadne tonight as my son has an ear infection and needs cuddle time.
    Love the hat choice for the knit-a-thon. Tres cool!
    Can’t wait to see you saturday!
    BTW, the sweater is just gorgeous!! You are right, the sleeves make the sweater!

  2. Pingback: Static | Second Storey Knits

Leave a Reply

