Daily Archives: January 31, 2011

Maxin’ and Relaxin’

The past few days have been a whirlwind of activities and parties and meetings and fun.  In short, I’ve been really busy, and I’m sorry I haven’t been posting as of late.

But!  I did make cupcakes the other day!

Don’t they look super cool?  I tried to make the icing a robin’s egg blue, and made them with mint extract.  I used a Bundt cake recipe to make the cupcake part, and over-baked them a bit.  I’m not the best baker in the world, though, so I was pleased with the result.

I’ve also re-visited my Manos mittens.  I had to rip back the cuff by snipping one stitch about one round from the top of the cuff, pick up all the stitches, and knit down.

The hand of the mitten is in Manos del Uruguay Clasica in Olivewood, and the cuff is Lamb’s Pride Superwash Worsted in Lichen.   The pattern is Bella’s mittens, but reduced in size significantly (I cast on 30 stitches and increased by one in the first round of the hand.)

I used a provisional cast on with waste yarn and knit down the cuff so that the mittens would match, and then slipped the live stitches from the waste yarn onto my needle and started knitting the hand.  I’m almost done the gusset!  I’m really quite pleased with how quickly it’s going, and have been lightly promising myself that I won’t leave my house until the mittens are finished.  It’s too cold!